Seed Catalogs: On your mark…

This year's stack of catalogs.

This year’s stack of catalogs.

Wow. I posted practically nothing last year. My excuse: demanding new job. But last week was Imbolc, a holiday devoted to Brigid, the Celtic goddess of poetry. I made a vow to Brigid that I would post something to this blog once a week. I also vowed that I was going to be a lot more feisty, appropriate for a warrior goddess.

Onward and Upward in the Garden by Katherine White is one of my most beloved garden books. White wrote some wonderful articles on her favorite garden catalogs. We’re in a different technological era. Are garden catalogs outmoded? I have to confess that my use catalogs for browsing and dreaming, marking with a red pen what I’m interested in. But then I do my actual ordering online. However, my Januarys and Februarys would be a lot more dreary if I didn’t have a satisfying stack of catalogs to thumb through, compare, and write notes on.

So in honor of Brigid, and in honor of Katherine White, I’m going to start out my blogging year by reviewing over this week all the seed catalogs that I received in the mail. Which is kind of arbitrary, I know. But it’s a workably limited list.

  • Johnny’s Selected Seeds
  • Tomato Growers Supply Company
  • R.H. Schumway’s Illustrated Garden Guide
  • Jung Seeds & Plants
  • Burgess Seed & Plant Co.
  • Gurney’s Seed & Nursery Co.
  • Territorial Seed Company
  • Southern Exposure Seed Exchange
  • John Sheepers Kitchen Garden Seeds
  • Native Gardener’s Companion.

I’ll take one to three at a time. So there will be more than one posting this week. Go Mark!

Leave a Reply

