Nick Cave Show

A Nick Cave Soundsuit that I felt was appropriate  image to this blog.

A Nick Cave Soundsuit that I felt was appropriate image to this blog.


Yesterday I finally made it over to the Jack Shainman gallery on 20th Street to catch the Nick Cave show. It was a wonderful show. Soundsuits are his signature piece. These towering garments make the point, for me, that out clothing is a kind of sculpture. They shape us, give us texture and color. His work also reminded me of Joan Halifax’s essay on the shamanic robe, how the making of the garb is integral to the ceremony. Of course, the radical faerie in me loved the work.

Afterwards I went shopping for clothing. Everything seemed so drab and uninspired. I wanted interesting form, color, texture. Instead, it was all “basics.”

Leave a Reply

